July 7, 2022

An emergency meeting of the Board of Public Works was held on July 7, 2022 at 1:00 pm in person and virtually via Zoom. Those in attendance were President Brian Terry, Vice President David Ausmus, Board Member David Wilt, Board Member Scott Lucas, General Manager Stephanie Wilson, Assistant to the Electric Distribution Supervisor and Manager of Utility Operations Bryce Butner, Underground Facilities Supervisor Mike Llewellyn, Controller Jennifer McLeland. Attending guests included Dennis Stith and Philip Wilson with McClure Engineering.

President Brian Terry called the meeting to order at 1:00 pm.

Under new business, information was provided seeking Approval to Recommend to the City Council of Macon, Missouri to Adopt a Resolution to Submit Applications to the Missouri Department Natural Resources for Grant Funds Available through the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA). General Manager Stephanie Wilson along with MMU staff members and McClure Engineering shared information related to projects eligible for funding. Drinking Water funds, if awarded, would be used to replace cast iron mains in the water distribution system. Wastewater and Stormwater funds, if awarded, would be used to separate stormwater from the Combined Sewer System.

After discussion, President Brian Terry made a motion, seconded by Board Member Scott Lucas, to recommend to the City Council of Macon, Missouri that the ARPA applications for Drinking Water, Wastewater, and Stormwater funding be approved for submittal with MMU matching 10%, 10%, and 20% respectively.

                                    ARPA Grant Request             Local Matching Funds            Total Projects

Drinking Water                $  3,405,371                             10% – $378,375                $  3,783,746

Wastewater                      $  4,529,092                             10% – $503,233                $  5,032,325

Stormwater                      $  3,457,260                             20% – $864,315                $  4,321,575

Total                                 $11,391,723                                     $1,745,923                $13,137,646

The motion passed with four votes for and none against.

President Brian Terry adjourned the meeting at 1:29 pm.